This article covers how the 3Play Media account system determines and prevents duplicate files from being processed.
The 3Play Media system has some mechanisms that prevent users from getting billed twice for accidental duplicate uploads, though not every instance is automatically detected. If 3Play Media detects a duplicate upload in an project, the user will be notified by email and the duplicate will be automatically rejected.
Which Files Will Be Considered Duplicates?
Whenever a file is uploaded, our system checks for matches that already exist in the same 3Play Media project. Our system checks each file differently depending on whether there is a Video_ID or not.
NOTE: Our system only looks within projects, not accounts, for duplicates.
If the file has a Video_ID
Reject files with same Video_ID: If the file has a Video_ID (It was uploaded via an integration), our system checks all other files in the same project for the same Video_ID. If our system finds any matching Video_IDs, the file is flagged as a duplicate and rejected.
Pass files with new Video_ID: If the file has a Video_ID that does not match any other Video_IDs in the same 3Play project, the file will continue processing and will not be considered a duplicate.
If the file does not have a Video_ID
If the file does not have a Video_ID, it will automatically be rejected only if the file name and file duration are exactly the same as an existing file that is still in your project.
Duplicate files uploaded using the FTP method will not be rejected and the duplicate will be processed with _1 added to the file name. For example, a file uploaded twice using the FTP upload method called myvideo.mov will become myvideo_1.mov.
Archived files within your project will still be searched by our system when it looks for Video_IDs, names, and duration of existing files. If you wish to upload a file that is currently archived, we recommend changing the name of the archived file and/or removing the Video_ID so it no longer matches the new version you wish to upload.
If you realize you made this mistake, you can cancel the job before the file state moves from Pending to In Progress.
See more information about canceling a file.